Choice by
Login as [email protected], password is in library record.
Access to full archive.
Daily Telegraph by
Only available online. User name and password in catalogue record.
National Geographic by
Last 5 years kept in print. Full archive accessible online
National Geographic is the official magazine of the National Geographic Society. It has been published continuously since its first issue in 1888, nine months after the Society itself was founded. It primarily contains articles about science, geography, history, and world culture.
Ask the Librarian for the username and password to access the full archive online. Selected articles are scanned and catalogued separately for online access.
New Yorker by
Last 3 years in print + access to online archive
The New Yorker is an American magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry. It is published by Condé Nast. Started as a weekly in 1925. A good source of exemplars of writing.
Ask Librarian for login/password to online archive.
Scan by
Access to all articles from 2014.
Scan is a peer refereed online journal offering articles about quality learning, teaching ideas, research and emerging trends.
Screen Education by
Screen Education is a partially refereed quarterly magazine written by and for teachers and students in primary and secondary schools in all curriculum areas, as well as some areas of tertiary study. The magazine also publishes articles by educators, scholars and critics.
Published by Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM), the magazine builds on many decades of experience in delivering screen literacy programs for teachers and students. Firmly grounded in both theory and practice, the magazine brings more awareness about the diversity and complex character of the moving image, simultaneously promoting the joy of learning and an appreciation of screen culture.
The magazine includes practical classroom ideas, lesson plans and activities along with essays, study guides, updates on new technology, and book and DVD reviews.
The library can provide a scanned version of every article. The individual articles are catalogued - just ask for the one you want to be sent to you.
Southern Cross : the newspaper of the Anglican Diocese of Sydney.
This link goes to the journal homepage but key articles are indexed in the library catalogue
All local 
titles can be found in the library catalogue. You can also search directly. These videos should help
Teachers can search in for a wider range of titles. Click "Add to your library" if you find a useful title and the library will automatically add it for future use so it is easy for students to find.
PG rated videos can be shown to Year 5 and up. M rated videos can only be shown to girls in Year 10 and up (year 10 must have the relevant diary permission signed). To make a video that would otherwise be restricted available, contact the library and a Canvas playlist will be created.
Any questions about - contact Jodie Followes in the Library.
This is a link to AI Educator Tools
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Turnitin has AI detection capabilities
___________________________________________
Tools like ChatGPT, Magic Write, and Moonbeam can write good responses to most essay questions (especially if it is also on a US curriculum)
Quill.org and CommonLit.org have collaborated to create a tool that detects writing created by AI. The tool is called AI Writing Check and it’s available for free to any teacher who wants to use it. (There will be others but this is the first we've heard of and tested)
To use AI Writing Check you simply have to copy a passage of text of 100 or more words and paste it into AI Writing Check. The tool will then tell you the likelihood that the writing has or has not been created by artificial intelligence. Watch this video to see AI Writing Check in action.
It isn't foolproof and students can still develop ways to get around tools designed to detect AI-generated writing. (with thanks to Richard Byrne Feb 2023)
The library has 4 spaces available for booking by staff for classes.
Only one wide reading class can be booked in a period.
To book a space, please ask at the circulation desk or email [email protected]
Please follow this link to get to your Book Box.
https://danebank-school.
You will need your school login (not school email address) to gain access.
Danebank teachers have access to every etext, heart the ones you use to bring them to the top of your page.
In order to read your textbooks when you don't have internet access, you will need to first get your Bobby Pin code.
You can find this 4 digit code in your Personal Profile which is an option on the left-hand side on the Box of Books site.
Once you have your Bobby Pin, use one of the following step by step guides to download the Box of Books eReader.
Getting started - Reading books offline
MAC OS https://help.boxofbooks.io/en/
Windows https://help.boxofbooks.io/en/
Apple iOS https://help.boxofbooks.io/en/
Once installed, use the eReader to read your texts anytime offline. Click on "Get Books" in the top right-hand corner to download all of your books.
When installing the eReader, you may receive a warning message. Please disregard this message & hit the "Proceed" button to complete the download/install.
The Official Guide to Copyright Issues for Australian Schools and TAFE
http://www.smartcopying.edu.au/
Because of expensive licensing agreements between governments and schools, we have significant freedom to do many things in education. However, we do not have the right to flout the law!
Relevant teacher professional standards:
1.1.2 Demonstrate high standards of professional practice.
7. 1.1.3 Protect ...professional practice of teaching meets the highest possible standards. In achieving ..... ensuring that they do not breach copyright law or licensing arrangements.
If you are unsure, ASK US!
The library buys or subscribes to more than 10,000 ebooks. All are listed and linked in the Library catalogue.
The * collections allow simultaneous access to titles by at least 30 users.
 |
| * Multiple users. Encyclopaedia at 3 levels. |
  |
| Overdrive - one user, 3 week loan. Fiction and non-fiction |
 |
| * Multiple users. Non-fiction |
 |
| * Multiple users. Non-fiction |
Edrolo is used in many Year 11 and 12 courses to supplement teaching and aid revision.
