Assisted Suicide - Talking Points by
In this short book, Vaughan Roberts briefs Christians on the complex questions surrounding assisted suicide. He surveys the Christian worldview and helps us to apply its principles as we navigate life and death in a society with contrasting values.
Easeful Death by
Summary: Provides an assessment of arguments both for and against the legalisation of assisted suicide and euthanasia.
End of life issues by
Summary: Death eventually comes to claim us all, yet most people live in denial of it until they are confronted with their own mortality. In order to ultimately have a good death - such as dying comfortably at home, supported by family and friends and effective services - discussion, decisions and planning are required to put things into place, knowing your family is acting according to your wishes. Planning for the end of ones life may entail making an advance care plan; funeral and estate planning; palliative care; understanding the legal status and complexities of voluntary euthanasia; and being prepared for what to expect during a loved ones final hours, including ensuing feelings of bereavement and loss. This book explores a range of issues for us all to anticipate and evaluate at some stage: end of life attitudes and decisions; end of life care; and coping with death and grief. What are your wishes and rights (and those of your loved ones) when it comes to the personal and practical considerations we have to deal with at the end of life? (Publisher)
Ethics in the real world ; 86 brief essays on things that matter by
In this book of brief essays, Singer applies his controversial ways of thinking to issues like climate change, extreme poverty, animals, abortion, euthanasia, human genetic selection, sports doping, the sale of kidneys, the ethics of high-priced art, and ways of increasing happiness. Singer asks whether chimpanzees are people, smoking should be outlawed, or consensual sex between adult siblings should be decriminalised, and he reiterates his case against the idea that all human life is sacred, applying his arguments to some recent cases in the news. In addition, he explores, in an easily accessible form, some of the deepest philosophical questions, such as whether anything really matters and whether the pale blue dot that is our planet has any value. The collection also includes some more personal reflections, like Singer's thoughts on one of his favourite activities, surfing, and an unusual suggestion for starting a family conversation over a holiday feast. Provocative and original, these essays will challenge: and possibly change: your beliefs about a wide range of real-world ethical questions.
Euthanasia by
Euthanasia - History ; Euthanasia - Law and legislation; Euthanasia - Moral and ethical aspects; Law - Australia
Euthanasia by
Looks at how society responds to a dying, or chronically ill, person's wish to end their life. Considers the main areas of debate about euthanasia, including assisted suicide, passive and active euthanasia. Explores the arguments made by both sides in the debate and what is being done to protect and help dying people. Finally, you can find out how euthanasia could affect you and learn more about the issues involved.
Introducing Christian Ethics by
Starting at the beginning: what's so good about being good? -- Theological ethics: where does morality come from? -- Cultural views of morality: why can't we make up our own moral rules for ourselves? -- Making ethical decisions: when I'm in a moral dilemma, what do I do? -- Abortion: how can you say that a pregnant seventeen-year-old, for whom having the baby will ruin her life, is doing something wrong by having an abortion? -- Reproductive technologies: what do you say to infertile couples about the hi-tech ways to have a baby? -- Genetics and biotechnology: what do you tell couples who want to use biotechnology to produce designer children? -- Death, dying, and assisted suicide: don't people have a fundamental right to die? -- Capital punishment: isn't the death penalty a barbaric holdover from uncivilized cultures that should be done away with today? -- War and morality: in view of the Bible's teaching to love your enemies, why isn't every Christian a pacifist? -- Sexual ethics: shouldn't people be able to love and have sex with whomever they choose? -- Christian ethics, economics, and the workplace: how does my work connect to my spiritual life and my service to God?
Islamic Ethics of Life by
Taking life and saving life : the Islamic context / Jonathan E. Brockopp -- The problem of abortion in classical Sunni fiqh / Marion Holmes Katz -- Contemporary Muslim ethics of abortion / Donna Lee Bowen -- The right not to be born / Vardit Rispler-Chaim -- Between functionalism and morality / Khaled Abou El Fadl -- Saving and taking life in war / Sohail H. Hashmi -- Discourses on Jihad in the postmodern era / Richard C. Martin -- The good death in Islamic theology and Law / Jonathan E. Brockopp -- Brain death and Islamic traditions / Birgit Krawietz -- Islamic ethics of life : future challenges / A. Kevin Reinhart.
Without God, Is Everything Permitted? by
Summary: Can it ever be right to kill? Is terrorism ever justified? Should euthanasia be legal? Are some people superior to others? Do animals have rights? Some ethical judgements are easy: one side is wrong and the other is right. But how do we handle the really tough 'right vs right' dilemmas, where each side has strong moral arguments? Julian Baggini examines 20 of the most complex contemporary ethical dilemmas.
Voluntary Euthanasia and Assisted Dying by
This title looks at this complex topic through the lens of the latest legal developments. Issues explored and debated include the role of medical practitioners, medical treatment decision-making and end of life choices, religious and ethical approaches to dying, and the value of death itself. What, in fact, is the difference between assisted dying and euthanasia? Can palliative care always provide adequate pain relief? What are the many ethical, religious, medical, legal and practical considerations? In certain circumstances, should we ever have a legal right to die?
Bioethics by
In the face of continuing advances in medical research and treatment, bioethics remains a serious ongoing social concern. For nearly two decades Gilbert Meilaender's Bioethics has offered discerning Christian guidance on a wide range of pressing issues in medical ethics.
Now in its third edition, Meilaender's Bioethics covers abortion, assisted reproduction, genetic research, suicide and euthanasia, human experimentation — and much more — in language that is theologically informed, straightforward, and clear. This new edition includes updated information throughout and an added discussion of the need to protect Christian conscience in the practice of medicine.
Damned if I do by
This is the revealing, personal story of the man behind the controversial pro-euthanasia movement, told in his own words. Medical doctor, humanist, author and founder/director of Exit International, Philip Nitschke's life has always been in the spotlight.
The books spans Philip's early days, from his curious, activist student days in Adelaide, to working with Aboriginal land rights groups in Australia's Far North; to his successful campaign to have euthanasia legalised in Australia and his assistance in four people ending their lives before the law was overturned.
It covers the controversy surrounding Philip's work, including the banning in Australia of his international bestselling book The Peaceful Pill, and disturbing reports that many young people overdosed on Nembutal, the drug that Exit International recommends for suicide.
Ultimately, Philip believes that the right to one's own death is as fundamental as the right to control one's own life.
Death Talk by
Death Talk asks why, when our society has rejected euthanasia for over two thousand years, are we now considering legalizing it? Has euthanasia been promoted by deliberately confusing it with other ethically acceptable acts? What is the relation between pain relief treatments that could shorten life and euthanasia? How do journalistic values and media ethics affect the public's perception of euthanasia? What impact would the legalization of euthanasia have on concepts of human rights, human responsibilities, and human ethics? Can we imagine teaching young physicians how to put their patients to death?
There are vast ethical, legal, and social differences between natural death and euthanasia. In Death Talk Margaret Somerville argues that legalizing euthanasia would cause irreparable harm to society's value of respect for human life, which in secular societies is carried primarily by the institutions of law and medicine.
End of life issues by
Summary: Death eventually comes to claim us all, yet most people live in denial of it until they are confronted with their own mortality. In order to ultimately have a good death - such as dying comfortably at home, supported by family and friends and effective services - discussion, decisions and planning are required to put things into place, knowing your family is acting according to your wishes. Planning for the end of ones life may entail making an advance care plan; funeral and estate planning; palliative care; understanding the legal status and complexities of voluntary euthanasia; and being prepared for what to expect during a loved ones final hours, including ensuing feelings of bereavement and loss. This book explores a range of issues for us all to anticipate and evaluate at some stage: end of life attitudes and decisions; end of life care; and coping with death and grief. What are your wishes and rights (and those of your loved ones) when it comes to the personal and practical considerations we have to deal with at the end of life? (Publisher)
A Good Death: An Argument For Voluntary Euthanasia by
A Good Death is his candid and provocative account of the experiences of many terminally ill people Dr Rodney Syme has assisted to end their lives. Over the past thirty years Syme has challenged the law on voluntary euthanasia-at first clandestinely and now publicly-risking prosecution in doing so. He again risks prosecution for writing this book. A Good Death is a moving journey with those who came to Syme for help, and a meditation on what it means in our culture to confront death. It is also a doctor's personal story about the moral dilemmas and ethical choices he faces working within the grey areas of the law. In this important book, Rodney Syme argues for the end of the unofficial 'conspiracy' of silence within the medical profession and the decriminalisation of voluntary euthanasia in Australia. Through Syme's determination to tell the stories of those who he has assisted to die with dignity, A Good Death also draws wider lessons of value for those who find themselves...
New Challenges for Christians by
Theologians are involved in a wide variety of public committees concerned with ethical issues arising from modern science, and are still holding their own against critics such as Richard Dawkins. It is important that a wide range of people are aware of how to be responsibly involved in these discussions, and to avoid the knee-jerk reactions of fundamentalists.
Right to Die and Euthanasia by
Provides an overview of the issues associated with euthanasia and the right to die with a glossary of terms and a fully annotated bibliography.
Voluntary euthanasia and assisted dying by
This title looks at this complex topic through the lens of the latest legal developments. Issues explored and debated include the role of medical practitioners, medical treatment decision-making and end of life choices, religious and ethical approaches to dying, and the value of death itself. What, in fact, is the difference between assisted dying and euthanasia? Can palliative care always provide adequate pain relief? What are the many ethical, religious, medical, legal and practical considerations? In certain circumstances, should we ever have a legal right to die?
