Library - ILSS: Images

IMAGE RESOURCES

From Joyce Valenza's Copyright Friendly wiki:

Portals

• Copyright-friendly WebList
• Beholdcc Use the boxes before you search to select licensing
• Shahi Visual Dictionary (check for licensing, many are CC and Wiktionary)
• openphoto: Free stock images. Use categories on the right to browse or click on search in the top bar
• BurningWell (public domain, high resolution photos)
• 25 Free Stock Photo Sites
• Photl
• 26 Places to Find Free Multimedia for Your Blog
• Creativity103.com (abstract backgrounds)
• Photos8 (public domain photos)
• Sevenload.com
• VADS: Free Art and Design Images for Education (Read Terms of Use)
• US Government Photos and Multimedia Most materials is in the public domain, but read the disclaimers.
• Yahoo Creative Commons Search
• Wikimedia Commons: A database of 14 freely usable media files to whichanyone can contribute.
  • Images by type
  • Wikimedia Commons-Images-Science
  • Wikimedia Commons-Images-Nature
  • Wikimedia Commons-Images-Society
• Free Digital Photos
• GetMedia
• Free Pixels:images may be used for both personal and commercial purposes under the limitations of this license
• Free Photos Bank
• 4 Free Photos - collection of over 700 free images offered by the photographer
• Free Photo 1
• OurMedia
• FreeMediaGoo
• CarPictures.cc
• Images for Education (for UK higher ed.) 
• 
   
• Other portals (some subject-specific)

• PBase World Gallery (amateur photos organized by country)
• Digital Librarian Images (check for licensing)
• Flickr-Related Tag Search (not all CC)
• GeekPhilosopher
• American Memory Collection: Library of Congress. (click on "Photos and Prints" and check the "Copyright and Restrictions" section for each collection)
• American Memory Maps Collection
• America From the Great Depression to World War II: FSA/OWI 1935-1945American Memory collection
• Department of the Interior Photo Resources Library
• Graphic Maps.com
• Images of American Political History
• Internet Moving Images Archive (read Conditions of Use)
• Metropolitan Museum of Art (Please read copyright info onhttp://www.metmuseum.org/copyright.htm)
• NARA's Search Tools
• NARA's (National Archives and Records Administration) NAIL Search
• Picture Collection Online (New York Public Library)
• NOAA Photo Library (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
• Picturing the Century: 100 Years of Photography
• Selected Civil War Photographs
• Training Reference: Images for Learning Materials
• US Air Force Link: Photos and Art
• US Navy Images
• UTOPIA (UT Austin) Portrait Gallery (historical figures)
• University of Cambridge List of Freely Available Images Links
• EduPic Graphical Resource - Free Photographs and Graphics for Education

Also of interest:

• Photo Tampering Throughout History
• Sound Map of the World
• iStockphoto
• Dreamstime (free and low cost stock images)

http://www.pleasedontcheat.com

• Is it really stealing?
• Why should I care?
• What does it look like?
• What tools can I use?
• How can I use my own brain?
• Digital ethics

FlickrStorm another Flickr search engine which returns more, related images 

FlickrStorm: better search for Flickr, including Creative Commons

• Flickr/Library of Congress: The Commons: Goals--To increase access to publicly-held photography collections and to provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge. (Check for licensing on individual images.)

• Wellcome Images (medical and social images, including medical war images)
• Centre for Bioscience ImageBank
• Department of Agriculture Image Gallery
• Wikimedia Commons-Images-Science
• Great Images in NASA (GRIN)
• NASA Image eXchange (NIX)
• NASA Image Galleries
• NASA's Planetary Photojournal
• National Health Museum (AccessExcellence) - images are not to be published on any other website
• NIH Image Bank - National Institute of Health
• National Library of Medicine: Images from the History of Medicine -  Check copyright page before publishing
• NOAA Photo Library (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) - Environmental images
• NOAA - National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library
• Public Health Image Gallery
• Springer Images (scientific images with liberal licensing, read the Copyright restrictions)
• US Fish and Wildlife Services Images
• US Geological Service Photographic Library
• Bird and animal photos
• Animal photos
• Animals - Wallpapers & free photos
• Multimedia Gallery of the European Space Agency  over 3000 images and videos about space.
• ESO Photo Gallery  astronomy photos
• CERN's Multimedia and Outreach database over 50 000 images related to particle physics
• Mulltimedia database of EFDA-JET images and videos about fusion power and fusion research
• Image bank of Interactions.org images of particle physics
• www.freeimages.co.uk  over 5000 images covering a wide range of subjects, including science

 http://www.scienceinschool.org/2006/issue1/web

Sample - Permission request letters - http://www.copyrightkids.org/

Picture Australia

• Galleries, archives, museums and libraries across Australia and overseas combine to provide access to over 1.8 million images.
• Search great cultural institutions for Australian images.
• See pictures of Australia’s past and present including: photographs, objects, maps and works of art.
• Find more images on Trove.

All images from the Picture Australia website may be used for research or educational purposes, in accordance with the Copyright Act 1968 (Cth). If you intend to publish the images in print or online, other than as permitted by this Conditions of Use statement, you will need to get permission from the contributingagency