This is the "Video" page of the "Library - Copyright" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library - Copyright  

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.danebank.nsw.edu.au/librarycopyright Print Guide RSS Updates

Video Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

YouTube Copyright

 

Royalty Free Video

List compiled from ReelSEO  and http://www.seabreezecomputers.com/tips/freevideo.htm

Stock video footage for free is hard to find. But we have found a number of websites that provide nice quality video footage at no charge. Please read the license agreement at each website. There may be some restrictions on how you use the stock videos. Also, they may require that you attribute the video to the website or author of the video.

If you do use a video from one of the websites listed it would be nice if you contacted the author of the video and let them know how you are using their video.

Royalty Free Video Links
http://bottledvideo.com

Provides broadcast quality and totally free video clips that can be used in your film, video, website, advertisement, live performance, or presentation. Over 12,000 video clips! 6/3/2013 Tip: To download the free clips click on the SD link. The HD link takes you to a site where you have to pay $25 for the clip.

http://www.motionelements.com/free/stock-footage

Motion Elements provides some very neat looking background stock footage and some computer generated background and title imagery. The link above goes to the free section of Motion Elements stock footage. The free videos are very good but there are only about 5 pages of them. If you stray away from the free videos then the videos cost usually from $20 to $50.

http://www.vidsplay.com/

Vidsplay provides a few very good quality stock video clips that anyone can download for free for both commercial and non-commercial projects.

http://www.motionbackgroundsforfree.com

After you sign up this website offers many moving background videos with a 100% royalty free license allowing you to use the backgrounds in any type of presentation or video project.

http://www.stockfootageforfree.com

This website provides some background loops, and stock footage of many different types of scenes and locations including time lapse videos. You can use the footage in all types of projects including commercial.

http://movietools.info

This site provides free animated background loops and overlays that look like they could be used for news content.

Royalty Free Video

After Effects Projects and Loops
Over 3,000 Royalty Free video files from $1. Other sites for the company include ActiveDen.net AudioJungle.net Themeforest.net GraphicRiver.net 3docean.net and codecanyon.net

iStockPhoto
Search our royalty free stock images and photos or browse a giant selection of stock photography. They also have some video clips as well as photos.

Free Stock Footage
Broadcast quality stock footage, royalty free B-Roll. Add stock footage to your video, website or your Powerpoint presentations. This stock footage is great for using in either Final Cut Pro, iMovie, Premier, Media 100, Avid or any non-linear editing system.

Thought Equity
Some seriously high-quality footage including stock footage in HD from companies like Sony, National Geographic, MGM, NBC, HBO, Marvel Entertainment and more.

Shutterstock Footage
With top quality video material, a user-friendly interface, and an affordable cost structure. Prices start at $10 per clip.

ArtBeats
Quality HD stock footage shot on film and video with the largest selection of royalty free clips available.

Royalty Free HD
Expensive, high-definition stock footage. All are high quality and professionally made but prices start at $149 per piece. Include collections of pieces for $699.

Pond5
The world's first open marketplace for stock video footage, and it's a better way for video professionals to buy or sell stock footage for use in productions.

GotFootage
Flat Rate Pricing * Immediate Downloads for All Orders * Footage Includes All Rights for All Media, WorldWide, and In Perpetuity. Flat Rate Pricing of $50 per clip Other sites include - Wrightwood.com FootageHouse.com GotHiDef.com FootageHouseHD.com All clips are 720x486 29.97fps Quicktime/Photo-JPEG

Action Backs
I included this place because it's got some great animated backgrounds that you could then throw whatever you needed on top of.

Always HD 
built to provide professional Cinematographers and 3D Animators with a means to market their footage; actively seeking out camera operators, studios, and artists whose work will be of benefit to video producers around the world by focusing exclusively on the sale of High Definition (and emerging 2K / 4K formats).

Animation Factory
Another place specializing in background animations with hundreds of thousands of pieces.

Wrightwood Laboratories
If you need outer space then you need these guys. Part of the GotFootage network but man have they got space footage.

Ocean Footage
If you are looking for something closer to home then this is the place to search. All sorts of oceanic footage.

After a while I just started running into the same sites again and again, either with other domains pointing to them or the same content with a different wrapper. I also ran into the Wikipedia Page on Public Domain Image Resources which has a massive listing of, well, just about everything.



Source: Royalty Free Video Resources: List of Royalty-free Music Image & Video Sites http://www.reelseo.com/royalty-free/#ixzz2yKxsIiKo 
©ReelSEO.com, All Rights Reserved 
Follow us: @ReelSEO on Twitter | ReelSEO on Facebook

 

More sites

movie archive.org/details/moviesThe Archive’s Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos. This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.ex . archive.org/details/night_of_the_living_dead
mfol moviesfoundonline.com/public_domain.phpMovies Found Online finds movies, documentaries and other videos online and list them on this site. Watch streaming movies online instantly for free. None of the online streaming media is hosted on this site. All videos are embedded from Google Video, YouTube or the like. (read the disclaimer)
fpdm imovies.blogspot.comA blog that features free Classic Movies, Cartoons, and Shorts for streaming or downloading.
nara video.google.com/nara.htmlThe video archives of the National Archives of the Government of USA hosts a nice collection
of
historical movies, including lots of great NASA footage.National Archives Video Sections: NASA History – United Newsreel – Department of the Interior
pdcomedy.comNot Everything, Just The Best Public Domain Comedy Videos, Free To DownloadEx. Bugs Bunny, Abbott and Costello, Charlie Chaplin, Groucho Marx…
Other Resources:
Entertainment Magazine’s Free MoviesGoogle Search for “public domain video”
 

YouTube Copyright Centre

YouTube have a Copyright Centre where they offer useful information for people who have created content which others have used without permission, and information for people who are posting content without permission.

The page of Frequently Asked Questions is particularly helpful to guide you as to what you can and cannot do.

 

How to make a slide show on Youtube

 

Intellectual property

http://www.stockfootageforfree.com/

  • Footage from around the world
  • Use the footage in all types of projects (commercial included!)
  • Download as much as you want
  • There are absolutely no fees!
 

Australian Centre for Moving Images

The Australian Centre for the Moving Image has a lot of free videos available at the  Generator free media library.

'Find and download copyright-free video, images and sounds. Share your images, video footage and sound files with the Generator community by adding your own to the library.'

 

 

Royalty Free Video

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Videos_by_subject

Wikimedia Commons is a website where anyone can upload videos for anyone else to freely use.  Not all are at a professional standard.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip